The Legends League Cricket (LLC)’s 2022 edition will begin on September 16, organisers announced on Friday. The iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be hosting the first game between India Maharajas and World Giants. 

Also read: Watch: Cheteshwar Pujara smashes career best List A score vs Surrey in Royal London Cup One Day Championship

The inaugural match between will be dedicated to the 75th year celebration of Indian Independence.

“This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating 75th year of our independence. As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year league to the 75th year of Independence celebration,” said Ravi Shastri, Commissioner, LLC, said in a release.

Also read: Ross Taylor ‘was slapped 3-4 times’ by Rajasthan Royals owner for getting out on duck during IPL

The Indian Maharajas will be led by former Indian captain and BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, while the World Giants will be captained by England’s 2019 World Cup winning captain, Eoin Morgan.

The second edition of the LLC will commence a day after the special match, that is from September 16, which will see four teams taking part in a franchise-based format.

Overall, 15 matches will be played this season over a period of 22 days.

Also read: First edition of women’s IPL scheduled for March 2023: Reports

Live stream details:

The match will be aired on television on Sony Sports Network. The live streaming of the game will be available on SONY LIV. 

The match starts at 7 PM. 


India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (c), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha, Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior, Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Denesh Ramdin