Tymal Mills replaced a young Ramandeep Singh in Mumbai Indians’ playing 11 for the match against the Punjab Kings at the MCA Stadium, Pune on Wednesday. Mayank Agarwal and co went unchanged for the blockbuster game. 

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl. 

Also read: Ravichandran Ashwin likens retired out in cricket to substituition in football, predicts tactics’ future

Explaining his decision, Sharma said that the pitch looks similar to the one they played against the Royal Challengers Bangalore. The five-time champions have lost all four matches they have played in the season so far. 

“We will bowl first. Looks like a similar pitch to the ones we have played, there will be help for the pacer, need to exploit. Just one change – Tymal Mills is back, replacing Ramandeep. Just want the guys to keep their heads high, it’s important not to lose focus, keep trying harder and harder to get the points. Looking forward to doing well as a team,” MI skipper Rohit Sharma said at the toss. 

Also read: Rajasthan Royals’ Riyan Parag wants to succeed MS Dhoni, ‘can be India’s best finisher’

Mayank Agarwal announced an unchanged playing 11. 

“We didn’t think about the toss and were prepared to do both. No changes in the playing XI for us, we’ve been playing good cricket, need to win the big moments. Jonty is a great personality, nice to have him around,” the PBKS captain said. 

The Punjab Kings have won two and lost as many games in IPL 2022 so far. they come to the game at the back of a loss against the Gujarat Titans. 

Also read: Quiet, tears and shock: India star Axar Patel recalls dressing room’s atmosphere when MS Dhoni retired


Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow(w), Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma, Odean Smith, Shahrukh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Vaibhav Arora, Arshdeep Singh

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Kieron Pollard, Jaydev Unadkat, Murugan Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Tymal Mills, Basil Thampi