Mumbai Indians were the first team to be eliminated from IPL 2022. There is no mathematical possibility for Rohit Sharma and co to make it to the playoffs, which means they will play fearlessly against the Kolkata Knight Riders when the two sides meet at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai on Monday. 

Also read: Need to improve, not overthink: SRH skipper Kane Williamson after 4th straight loss

After losing eight straight games, MI have won two in a row. They defeated the Rajasthan Royals before cruising against Hardik Pandya’s Gujarat Titans. Now, the five-time champions, still at the bottom of the IPL 2022 points table, have two wins in 10 games. 

Against the Titans, MI and Daniel Sams managed to defend nine runs in the last over to pull off a heist. They handed the then table-toppers a shocker of a defeat. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Why is Ravindra Jadeja not playing vs Delhi Capitals?

Going against KKR, who they have dominated over the years, Mumbai are expected to experiment. Which means that newer faces might get a chance. However, the team will still need openers Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan to click, like they did vs GT. The likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Daniel Sams and Kieron Pollard just makes an explosive lineup. 

Kolkata Knight Riders, on the other hand, come to this game after facing a crushing defeat against the Lucknow Super Giants. They are placed at the seventh rung of the IPL 2022 points table with four wins and seven losses. One more loss and KKR will be in trouble. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Hasaranga’s fifer, du Plessis’ 73 spur RCB to 67 runs win over SRH

 Teams (from): Kolkata Knight Riders: Aaron Finch, Abhijeet Tomar, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Indrajith, Nitish Rana, Pratham Singh, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer (c), Ashok Sharma, Pat Cummins, Rasikh Dar, Shivam Mavi, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakaravarthy, Aman Khan, Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohammed Nabi, Ramesh Kumar, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sam Billings, Sheldon Jackson.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Ramandeep Singh, SuryakumarYadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thampi, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Jofra Archer, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith, Tymal Mills, Kartikeya Singh, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Fabian Allen, Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Juyal and Ishan Kishan.

Match starts at 7.30 PM.