The NFL Waiver Wire is a process in which a team can make a claim for a player who was released by another team. The player then becomes an unrestricted free agent. This wire usually has a time limit of 24 hours within the player being cut that is if a player is released today, the waiver wire period will continue until tomorrow.

The wire period window is a bit shorter on cutdown day which means if a player is released at 4 PM eastern time then the other team will have only till noon of the next day to claim the player.

Also Read: NFL fantasy football: Drafting from the 11th spot in 12 team leagues, 0.5 PPR

If a player is claimed, he is added to a team’s active 53-man roster. As a result, the team will need to have an open spot on its active team, or create one; teams usually have an hour to do so after receiving a personnel notice from the league that players have been claimed.

Which players are placed on Waiver Wire?

To become an unrestricted free agent, players with fewer than four accrued seasons must go through the waiver wire. An accrued season is defined by the NFL as six or more games spent on a team’s 53-man roster, injured reserve, or physically unable to perform list.

According to, ahead of the 2022 NFL season, over the last month, nearly 800 players have been released as NFL teams officially announced their 53-man roster for the season.

Also Read: NFL: Raiders versus Chargers game hit by weather delay, fans upset

How is a Waiver Wire decided?

Using the team records from the previous NFL season, the NFL waiver wire order is determined from worst to first. For the 2022 season, since Jacksonville Jaguars had the worst record in the league, they will have the right to put in a claim on a player in the waiver wire market and while Los Angeles Rams won the Super Bowl, they have the last right.

Below is the full order for the waiver wire for the upcoming NFL season: –

  1. Jacksonville Jaguars
  2. Detroit Lions
  3. Houston Texans
  4. New York Jets
  5. New York Giants
  6. Carolina Panthers
  7. Chicago Bears
  8. Atlanta Falcons
  9. Denver Broncos
  10. Seattle Seahawks
  11. Washington Commanders
  12. Minnesota Vikings
  13. Cleveland Browns
  14. Baltimore Ravens
  15. Miami Dolphins
  16. Indianapolis Colts
  17. Los Angeles Chargers
  18. New Orleans Saints
  19. Philadelphia Eagles
  20. Pittsburgh Steelers
  21. New England Patriots
  22. Las Vegas Raiders
  23. Arizona Cardinals
  24. Dallas Cowboys
  25. Buffalo Bills
  26. Tennessee Titans
  27. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  28. Green Bay Packers
  29. San Francisco 49ers
  30. Kansas City Chiefs
  31. Cincinnati Bengals
  32. Los Angeles Rams

Also Read: NFL returning to London for international combine in October

For example, if the 20th-ranked Pittsburgh Steelers and the 21st-ranked New England Patriots are the only teams to make a claim for a player, he will join Pittsburgh due to the organization’s higher ranking.

The waiver claim order changes after the third week of the regular season. At that point, it will be based on the league-wide standings and adjusted weekly throughout the rest of the season, until a new draft order is set after the Super Bowl of that season.

Waiver Wire in Fantasy Football: –

Every manager in fantasy football has a waiver order priority rank. The waiver orders of the most important fantasy football managers are processed first. The waiver period is the amount of time a player must spend on fantasy football before the waiver order is processed. For all players, the default setting is “no waiver.” In this case, the player becomes a free agent and is then signed by a specific manager. A waiver order places a temporary hold on a player who has not yet been claimed. It gives every fantasy football manager the ability to make a claim on that player.

Also Read: NFL fantasy football: Drafting from the 10th spot in 0.5 PPR leagues

Difference between NFL Waiver Wire and Fantasy Football Waiver Wire: –

The NFL waiver wire differs from the fantasy football waiver wire in two ways: –

1) After filing a claim for a player, teams do not lose priority. The team with the highest waiver priority will receive all three players if they file three waiver claims. In most fantasy football leagues, if a team successfully claims a player, they are moved to the bottom of the waiver priority list.

2) Some players are not eligible for the NFL waiver wire and instead become free agents. Any player released by a team in fantasy football must go through the waiver process.