The power cut at Wankhede might have dimmed Chennai Super Kings’ IPL 2022 playoff hopes. The defending champions were tormented by the Mumbai Indians bowlers at regular intervals and could manage 97 runs in the first innings on Thursday. 

Chennai were playing without star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who has been ruled out of the season with a rib injury. A power cut at the stadium resulted in neither sides getting to use the DRS in the initial part of the game. CSK lost opener Devon Conway to a wrong on-field call. The Kiwi wanted to go upstairs but could not.

Also read: Pathetic: Internet slams IPL after DRS goes out of order during MI vs CSK game

CSK were soon down 17/4 and 29/5. Skipper MS Dhoni was steady at one end but wickets kept falling on the other. Their innings ended with a run out in the last over. The Yellow army recorded its second-lowest total in IPL. 

CSK’s lowest totals in IPL

79 MI Wankhede Stadium 2013

97 MI Wankhede Stadium 2022*

109 RR Jaipur 2008

109 MI Chepauk 2019

Also read: IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians give Pollard birthday bump, drop him vs CSK

Dhoni played a lone hand. The skipper scored 36 runs in 33 balls with the help of four boundaries and two maximums. Daniel Sams (3/16) was the pick of the Mumbai bowlers. Riley Meredith and Kumar Kartikeya took two wickets as Jasprit Bumrah and Ramandeep Singh finished with one each. 

Also read: With 2 wickets, Bumrah will become 1st India pacer to huge T20 landmark

“Can’t complain too much, was a tremendous effort from everyone. It was a group performance, quite an unbelievable effort. Got some swing in the 7th or 8th over, that was unusual, but definitely not complaining. I just tried to get on the mark, top of off and the ball swung in (against Rayudu after that boundary). The pace was troubling them a lot, so we didn’t take the pace off,” Meredith said after the first innings. 


Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Maheesh Theekshana, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith