Rep. Jim Jordan, a Trump supporter, lost again on Wednesday in the second round of the House speaker election.

Even with former US President Donald Trump’s endorsement, Jordan was unable to secure the 217 votes needed to take over as speaker of the house. All 212 Democrats and 22 Republicans voted against his candidacy in this round.

Also read | Who are the 20 Republicans voted against Jim Jordan for speaker in first round? 

Jordan faced resistance from 22 Republicans and all Democrats in the second round of voting. GOP defections had somewhat increased as of this point over the prior day.

With the House still without a leader for the sixteenth day, Congress is unable to adequately address pressing issues like the wars in the Middle East and Ukraine. Furthermore, without congressional intervention, action is required to prevent a possible partial government shutdown that is expected to occur in less than a month.

Also read | Who is Tom Cole? Veteran House lawmaker nominates Jim Jordan for House Speaker

Jordan received 199 votes, which was a further decrease from the 200 Republican votes he received on Tuesday. This is less than Speaker Kevin McCarthy received in any of the fifteen voting rounds that he participated in over the course of four days in January before being elected speaker.

The current state of affairs has reignited conversations over the possibility of giving Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Patrick McHenry (R., N.C.) additional authority in order to support crucial legislative activity. Later in the day, there may be a vote on such a resolution.

Also read | 42 Dugg aka Dion Marquise Hayes: Net worth, age, career, family, and more

Here is the complete list of all the Republicans who voted against Jim Jordan – 

  • Rep. Don Bacon
  • Rep. Vern Buchanan
  • Rep. Ken Buck
  • Rep. Lori Chavez-Ramer
  • Rep. Anthony D’Esposito
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart
  • Rep. Jake Ellzey
  • Rep. Drew Ferguson
  • Rep. Andrew Garbarino
  • Rep. Carlos Gimenez
  • Rep. Tony Gonzales
  • Rep. Kay Granger
  • Rep. John James
  • Rep. Mike Kelly
  • Rep. Jennifer Kiggans
  • Rep. Nick LaLota
  • Rep. Michael Lawler
  • Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks
  • Rep. John Rutherford
  • Rep. Michael Simpson
  • Rep. Pete Stauber
  • Rep. Steve Womack