The recently-concluded 15th season of the Indian Premier League saw some mind-blowing performances from both seasoned players and the rookies. The pundits are now choosing the best XI from the season and the latest cricketing legend to assemble his ‘Team of the Season’ is former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen

Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler and Yuzvendra Chahal were obvious picks in his IPL 2022 XI. Buttler emerged as the top-scoring player this season, scoring 863 runs. He took home the coveted Orange Cap. Chahal, on the other hand, bagged 27 scalps and won the Purple cap.

Also Read: Krunal Pandya pens emotional note for brother Hardik after GT’s IPL win

Pietersen picked Quinton de Kock as opener. The 29-year-old South African acted as a pillar of strength for Lucknow Super Giants in the franchise’s inaugural season, scoring 503 runs in 15 games. 

Also Read: Gujarat Titans domination: Shami, at No 11, didn’t bat once in 16 matches

Lucknow skipper KL Rahul and Gujarat Titans captain Hardik Pandya also made it to the list. KL Rahul continued his fine run with the bat, scoring over 616 runs in 15 matches. Pandya, who scored over 480 runs and picked up 8 wickets to lead Gujarat Titans from the front, was named the captain by Pietersen.

Pieterson picked Rahul Tewatia and R Ashwin as his two spin-bowling all-rounders.

Also Read: Biggest mistakes made in IPL 2022

Umran Malik, the SunRisers Hyderabad pacer who won the Emerging Player of the Season award, also made it to the list. The Jammu and Kashmir pacer got India’s call-up for the upcoming T20 series against South Africa.

Kevin Pietersen’s Team of IPL 2022: Jos Buttler, Quinton de Kock (WK), KL Rahul, David Miller, Hardik Pandya (Captain), Liam Livingstone, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Tewatia, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Josh Hazlewood.