Former cricketer Harbhajan Singh and Misa Bharti, daughter of former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav, were among the 28 recently elected Rajya Sabha MPs who took oath on Monday. The first day of the Monsoon session of tha Parliament was adjourned following an opposition uproar over issues ranging from price rise to the Agnipath scheme.

Also read: Second monkeypox case in India: All you need to know

Former finance minister P Chidambaram and his colleague from the previous UPA government, Kapil Sibal, also took oath as a member of the Upper House.

Sibal quit Congress and was elected to Rajya Sabha as an independent candidate from Uttar Pradesh with the support of the Samajwadi Party.

Also read: How will a new Prime Minister be elected in Sri Lanka?

Harbhajan Singh, who was elected to the Upper House from Punjab as Aam Adami Party (AAP) nominee, took oath in Punjabi.

Others who took oath were Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut, former Union minister Praful Patel, Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala, RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharti and Congress leader Rajeev Shukla.

Also Read| Monkeypox in India: How Kerala is working to prevent infection spread

Here is the complete list:

1) Masthan Rao Beeda (YSRCP)

2) V Vijayasai Reddy (RJD)

3) Faiyaz Ahmad (RJD)

4) Khiru Mahto (JD-U)

5) Mahua Maji (JMM)

6) Sasmit Patra (BJD)

7) Sandeep Kumar Pathak (AAP)

8) Vikramjit Singh Sahney (AAP)

9) R Girirajan (DMK)

10) S Kalyanasundaram (DMK)

11) KRN Rajeshkumar (DMK)

12) C Ve Shanmugam (AIADMK)

13) Javed Ali Khan (SP)

14) Shambhu Sharan Patel (BJP)

15) Aditya Prasad (BJP)

16) Jaggesh (BJP)

17) Ranjeet Ranjan (Congress)

18) Pramod Kumar (Congress)

19) Imran Pratapgarhi (Congress)

20) V Vijayendra Prasad (nominated)

21) Misa Bharti (RJD)

22) Harbhajan Singh (AAP)

23) P Chidambaram (Congress)

24) Kapil Sibal (SP)

25) Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena)

26) Randeep Singh Surjewala (Congress)

27) Rajeev Shukla (Congress)

28) Praful Patel (Congress)

Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu asked members taking oath to go back to their respective seats after signing the member’s register and not start exchanging pleasantries with other leaders. “Meeting and greeting can be done afterwards,” he said.

“While taking the oath, one should read the prescribed form. Any deviation will make their oath invalid. I don’t want to name anybody, one of the members has to take the oath again today because of such deviation,” he said without naming anyone.

Naidu said nothing other than the prescribed oath will be part of the record. “And, secondly, it will invalidate your oath. If somebody questions, then it will be a problem also. Please keep this in mind and also follow my advice.”