The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday announced three more candidates for the Punjab elections, releasing its 10th list of candidates. Joginder Singh Mann, a former MLA who switched from the Congress to AAP on Saturday, has been fielded from the Phagwara seat.

Also read: Assembly Elections 2022: Arvind Kejriwal asks Punjab people to choose AAP’s CM candidate

Mann, a leader from the Scheduled Caste community, was upset with the Congress over alleged inaction against those behind a scholarship scam and a long-pending demand to make Phagwara a district.

Also read: CM Channi to contest Punjab polls from Chamkaur Sahib, Sidhu from Amritsar East

The former MLA resigned from the Congress and as the chairman of Punjab Agro Industries Corporation.

In a letter to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Mann said he had a dream that he would die as a Congressman. “But with Congress patronising the guilty of the post-matric scholarship scheme, my conscience doesn’t allow me to stay here,” he said.

Also read: Tele voting: How to use AAP’s new Punjab CM selection tool for elections?

AAP leader and Punjab co-incharge Raghav Chadha said that Mr Mann’s induction will give a huge boost to the party in the state.

Voting for Punjab’s 117 assembly seats will be held on February 14 and the results will be declared on March 10.