South Africa named a 21-member squad for
the upcoming three-match Test series against India starting December 26. Pacer
Sisanda Magala and wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Rickelton are the new faces in the
South African squad.

Also Read: Cricket South Africa revises India tour dates, first Test to be played on Boxing Day

Pacer Duanne Olivier, who last played a
Test in 2019, is also back in the side, which will be led by Dean Elgar. The
seasoned pace duo of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje too returned after being
rested in the ODIs against the Netherlands, reported PTI.

The first Test, which has been pushed back
a week due to the emergence of the omicron variant of coronavirus in South
Africa, will start on Boxing Day at SuperSport Park, Centurion.

Also Read: 2021 has been ‘dream year’ but want to keep improving, says Axar Patel

The emergence of the omicron variant
threatened the whole series but both BCCI and Cricket South Africa worked
together to ensure it goes ahead.

“This format is very important to CSA
and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organisation’s priorities,”
said Victor Mpitsang CSA Convenor of Selectors.

Also Read: India to tour South Africa for 3 Tests and as many ODIs amid Omicron threat

“We are really looking forward to the
return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last
time we saw them dominate in the West Indies.

“We are confident in the team that we
have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed
and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing
that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant
period of time.”

series will be held later

The three-match series is part of the World
Test Championship and India will be aiming to secure their maiden series win in
South Africa.

Also Read: India’s solidarity: CSA lauds BCCI’s decision for continuing with cricket tour

The second Test will be held in Johannesburg
from January 3 and the third in Cape Town from January 11.

The Test series will be followed by a
three-match ODI series and four T20s, which were part of the original schedule,
will be held later.

Also Read: BCCI monitoring India A’s South Africa tour amid Omicron variant threat

The CSA had announced the revised series
schedule on Monday.


Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma
(vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee,
Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram,
Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle
Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala,
Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.