Sanjay Arora, a Tamil Nadu cadre officer from the 1988 batch, has now been chosen to serve as the new commissioner of the Delhi Police  , the MHA said in an order on Sunday. He will take over from Rakesh Asthana, an IPS officer from the Gujarat Cadre. Asthana, an IPS officer from the Gujarat cadre who was born in 1984, was selected last year by the Center as the next Delhi Police Commissioner until July 31, 2022, four days before his scheduled retirement. On Sunday at 4 p.m., a farewell procession will be held at Parade Ground, New Police Lines, in honour of CP, Delhi, Rakesh Asthana. The competent authority has authorised Arora’s inter-cadre deputation to the AGMUT cadre, according to a formal order.

On Monday, Arora will assume control until further instruction. According to the MHA, “Since Shri Sanjay Arora, IPS (TN:88), Director General, ITBP, was deputed to the AGMUT cadre on an inter-cadre basis, the competent authority has approved that Shri SL Thaosen, IPS (MP:88), Director General, Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB), shall hold additional charge of the post of DG, ITBP, in Shri Sanjay Arora’s place, until the appointment.”

Current Position of Sanjay Arora

Sanjay now holds the position of Director General, CRPF. He was appointed to the position of Special Director General, CRPF, effective on the date of assumption of responsibility, to fill a gap that existed, and his appointment will remain in effect until his retirement on July 31, 2025.

Sanjay Arora was named the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) DG in August of last year. On September 1, he assumed command of the India-China LAC guarding force.   

Qualifications of IPS Officer Sanjay Arora:

  1. Sanjay Arora graduated from Malviya National Institute of Technology in Jaipur with a bachelor’s degree in electrical and electronics engineering (Rajasthan).
  2. He worked with the Tamil Nadu Police in numerous positions after joining the IPS. He served as the special task force’s superintendent of police (SP), where he successfully took down the Veerappan gang. For this, he was given the Chief Minister’s Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action.
  3. After receiving training from NSG, Arora played a crucial part in the establishment of the special security group (SSG) in 1991, which was created to protect the chief minister of Tamil Nadu during the height of LTTE activities. Additionally, he held the position of superintendent of police in several Tamil Nadu districts.
  4. From 1997 to 2002, he served on deputation as commandant of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), and from 1997 to 2000, he oversaw an ITBP battalion that guarded the border in Matli, Uttarakhand. Serving as commandant (combat wing) at the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie, from 2000 to 2002, he has made outstanding contributions to thefield of commandant instructions.
  5. From 2002 to 2004, he was the city of Coimbatore’s police commissioner. Additionally, he has held the positions of Villupuram range deputy inspector general of police and deputy director of vigilance and anti-corruption.
  6. He served as the assistant commissioner for traffic, crime, and was at the Chennai City Police headquarters. In the Tamil Nadu Police, he was appointed ADGP (operations) and ADGP (administration) upon promotion.
  7. He was an IG (special operations) for the BSF, an IG for the Chhattisgarh Sector of the CRPF, and an IG for the CRPF. Before being named DG, ITBP, he held the positions of ADG HQ, operations, and special DG J&K zone CRPF.
  8. He has received several honours throughout the years, including the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, the Antrik Suraksha Padak, and the UN Peacekeeping Medal.


  9. Sanjay Arora will serve as the new Delhi Police commissioner
  10. He will take over from Rakesh Asthana, an IPS officer from the Gujarat cadre
  11. Arora had previously assumed command of the India-China LAC guarding force

Important Achievements of IPS Officer Sanjay Arora

At the beginning of his IPS career, he served in different positions in Tamil Nadu Police. He achieved significant success against the Veerappan Gang while he was Superintendent of Police (SP) of the Special Task Force (STF). He was honoured with the Gallantry award for this achievement. He also made an important contribution to the formation of the Special Security Group (SSG) for the Chief Minister’s protection against the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).