David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and decided to bowl first against Kolkata Knight Riders. Kolkata had a decent start to their innings with openers Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi putting on a decent 48 before the fall of the first wicket. Nitish Rana coming into bat at number three scored a quick fire 29 from 20 balls. However Sunrisers struck in quick succession to remove settled Gill and Rana to bring in Andre Russell and Eoin Morgan. Russell's disastrous start to the tournament continued as the Trinidadian failed to capitalize on the opportunity to get a big score and was dismissed for a paltry 9. Dinesh Karthik walked in at five trying to weave in a decent total for the Kolkata outfit. Karthik and Morgan provided Kolkata with a final flourish to reach a decent total of 163 for the loss of five wicket. Morgan added a quickfire 34 from 23 balls, while former captain Karthik chipped in with 29 from 14 balls, giving Kolkata bowlers a fighting chance. Chasing a total of 164 Sunrisers started strong with openers Jonny Bairstow and Kane Williamson firing from the beginning of the innings. The duo added 57 runs from the powerplay. Kolkata however made a quick return into the game with Lockie Ferguson removing Williamson and Garg in quick succession. Chakravarthy then removed Jonny Bairstow to put KKR back on top. Ferguson added a third wicket to his name by castling Manish Pandey for six, but a dogged David Warner kept the Hyderabad side in the hunt. Warner's persistence paid off as Hyderabad dragged the match into the Super Over. Batting first in the Super Over, Sunrisers was sent packing for two runs, with Lockie Ferguson delivering a sizzling performance with the ball. Ferguson removed Warner on the first ball and then got the better of Abdul Samad on the third delivery. Needing just three runs to win in the Super Over, KKR breezed through the run chase, winning the match with two balls to spare.