KBC 13 Offline Quiz (October 12, 2021): What is the capital of the Falkland Islands?

The options are

a. Jerusalem

b. Port Blair

c. Port Stanley

d. Ottawa

Answer: Port Stanley

The Falkland Islands also called Malvinas Islands or Spanish Islas Malvinas, are an internally self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom in the South Atlantic Ocean. Its capital city is Port Stanley, which is also one of the major towns.

The capital town of  Stanley is represented by five of the eight elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the Falkland Islands namely Stacy Bragger, Barry Elsby, Mark Pollard, Roger Spink and Leona Vidal Roberts. There was the elected Town Council of Stanley from 1948 to 1973.  

The climate of Stanley is classified as a subpolar oceanic climate (Cfc), as the mean temperature is greater than 10 °C (50 °F) for two months of the year, bordering very closely on a tundra climate.

The Falkland Islands are located about 300 miles (480 km) northeast of the southern tip of South America and a similar distance east of the Strait of Magellan.   

Also Read: KBC 13: Who is this footballer who scored his 500th career goal in March 2021?

Also Read: KBC 13: Which of these is the unit of measurement of latitudes and longitudes?

Also Read: KBC 13: Which of these building materials are available in 33 Grade, 43 Grade and 53 Grade?

Also Read: KBC 13: In which of these dishes would you normally not find any stuffing?

Also Read: KBC 13: By prefixing what term before the word 'ball' will you get the name of a sport?

Also Read: KBC 13: What does the idiom 'koop mandook' or 'kue ka mendhak hona' mean?

Also Read: KBC 13: Which cricketer played only one Test in his career, against New Zealand at Wellington, and took ...?

Also Read: KBC 13: In August 2020, ISRO decided to name a recently discovered crater on the moon after which scientist?