The United Kingdom has introduced compulsory quarantine for all people coming from the 33 "high-risk" from February 15, 11 months after the coronavirus pandemic began. The level of strictness has been increased to reduce the introduction and transmission of the new variants of the virus. Most of the restricted countries are situated in South America and South Asia.

Also Read: Which countries are on the red list of UK?

Here is a list of the nations that have been added to the red list.

  1. Angola
  2. Argentina
  3. Bolivia
  4. Botswana
  5. Brazil
  6. Burundi
  7. Cape Verde
  8. Chile
  9. Colombia
  10. The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  11. Ecuador
  12. Eswatini
  13. French Guiana
  14. Guyana
  15. Lesotho
  16. Malawi
  17. Mauritius
  18. Mozambique
  19. Namibia
  20. Panama
  21. Paraguay
  22. Peru
  23. Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)
  24. Rwanda
  25. Seychelles
  26. South Africa
  27. Suriname
  28. Tanzania
  29. United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  30. Uruguay
  31. Venezuela
  32. Zambia
  33. Zimbabwe

British citizens, travelling or transiting through these nations will have to stay quarantined for 10 days in hotels organised by the government, on reaching the country. These rules are applicable to anyone who has been to the countries mentioned above in the last 10 days. 

But the scheme under which the British tourists have to stay in hotels has not yet begun. They have to quarantine at home for now and travellers  found lying about their journeys will be heavily penalised.