Ravichandran Ashwin replaced Ravi Bishnoi in India’s playing 11 for the Super 4 Asia Cup 2022 tie against Sri Lanka at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday. 

Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bowl first. 

Shanaka at the toss said that he is banking on the record, favouring the teams chasing, on the Dubai pitch. He added that Si Lanka would like to continue with their winning momentum. The team goes into the game unchanged. 

Also read: Suresh Raina retires: His 5 best knocks in Indian colours

“We’ll bowl first because of the record here. All the last three games have been chased down here. The approach has been outstanding by our batters and we hope to continue the same. The coaching staff and the players have created the environment for the new players to come in and deliver. No changes,” the Lankan skipper said.

Also read: Thank you, Mr. IPL: Chennai Super King’s tribute to Suresh Raina

India need to win the game against Sri Lanka to stay alive in the Asia Cup. Skipper Rohit Sharma said that the team needs to learn how to overcome dew and defend a total. 

“The pitch doesn’t change much and it only gets better to bat on. This gives us an opportunity to come out and play freely. This is how the World Cup would be played as well, and we have to make sure that we don’t lose too many games. We need to ensure that we are there from the word go. We have to learn a lot when you are defending a score like that. With the dew, we need to learn the lines, the lengths and the boundaries well. The grass is lesser tonight. It looks drier, and we have one change on the basis of the Sri Lankan team: Ashwin comes in for Bishnoi,” Sharma said at the toss. 

Also read: Why Suresh Raina has retired from ‘all formats of cricket’


India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka