India is facing South Africa in the 3rd and penultimate ODI match in New Delhi. While rain played spoilsport, forcing the toss to reschedule to 1:45 pm IST, Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and chose to bowl.

India and South Africa have both won a match each in the ongoing ODI series. South Africa won the first ODI on October 6, whereas India came back to clinch the second ODI three days later on October 9. The final ODI on Tuesday, October 11, will also determine the series winner.

Also Read: India vs South Africa, 3rd ODI: Records, stats and pitch report

Team India has decided to field an unchanged XI from the 2nd ODI, that beat South Africa by seven wickets. On the other hand, South Africa has decided to make three changes going into the final ODI match. 

“I feel there is a bit of moisture and we want to exploit it. The team has been impressive and mature. We are going with the same team,” Indian captain Shikhar Dhawan said after winning the toss.

The match will also see the debut of David Miller as the South Africa captain. “It is a privilege to captain the country. Would have bowled first had we won the toss Jansen, Andile, and Lungi Ngidi come in,” he quipped.

South Africa has decided to drop three important players — Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj and Kagiso Rabada from the last match. These three have made way for Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lungi Ngidi in the penultimate ODI match.

Also Read: Roger Binny to replace Sourav Ganguly as BCCI president, Jay Shah to remain secretary

All of Parnell, Maharaj and Rabada were unsuccessful in the 2nd ODI match on October 9, when they conceded a total of 148 runs in 25 overs and claimed only two wickets. On the other hand, Indian batters Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer both were at their devastating best, scoring 93 and an undefeated 113 runs respectively.

India XI: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj

South Africa XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller (C), Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi