The Pandyas are out of the Mumbai Indians and will now take on each other when the Gujarat Titans, led by Hardik, face Krunal’s Lucknow Super Giants, both teams aiming to get off a winning start in the league.

For the first time in the IPL, Hardik Pandya is not wearing a Mumbai Indians jersey. The star all-rounder has loads of experience playing at the Wankhede with the five-time champions. However, he will be seen in a leadership role for the first time and the with the T20 World Cup coming, the 28-year-old will have to place his best foot forward in the next two months. 

Also read: Dwayne Bravo shy of one dismissal to be highest wicket-taker in IPL

For Gujarat, youngster Shubman Gill is expected to open alongside Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz. They alos have the likes of  Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar and skipper Pandya down the order. Karnataka’s Abhinav Manohar would need to shoulder responsibility in the middle order along with David Miller.

The bowling department will be led by Mohammed Shami and Rashid Khan. However, it will be interesting to see if Hardik Pandya bowls. 

Also read: West Indies celebrate wildly after South Africa knock India out of ICC Women’s World Cup | Watch

For the Lucknow Super Giants, KL Rahul is expected to open with South African wicket-keeper Quinton De Kock. They then have an array of all-rounders in Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya and West Indian Jason Holder down the order. Manish Pandey is expected to led the middle order batting. 

Lucknow’s bowling will be led by a young Avesh Khan. Ravi Bishnoi is expected to be a key cog in their attack. 

Also read: ICC Women’s World Cup: Mithali proud of India, thanks fans after loss vs SA

Teams (From) Gujarat Titans: Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Gurkeerat Singh, Sai Sudarshan, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (Captain), Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Matthew Wade, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Wriddhiman Saha, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Dominic Drakes, Jayant Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, Pradeep Sangwan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai, Varun Aaron, Yash Dayal.

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (Captain), Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, Quinton De Kock, Ravi Bishnoi, Dushmantha Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Andrew Tye, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya. Jason Holder.

Match starts at 7.30 PM.