Mumbai Indians on Thursday became the first team in the history of the IPL to lose all of their first seven games. Rohit Sharma and co faced a three-wicket loss against the Chennai Super Kings and lie at the bottom of the points table with no points in their kitty. Now, the pressing question is – Can MI make it to the playoffs?

Also read: Ponting to miss DC’s tie vs RR after family member tests COVID positive

Well, a straight answer would be a ‘yes’ on technicality. The magic number for playoff qualification over the years is set at 14 points. If Mumbai Indians win all their remaining games, they can reach there. But then Rohit Sharma will have to bank on the results of the other nine teams going in their favour for sealing a spot in the final four. The Paltan will still need big margin of wins to improve its net run rate and have a better shot at qualification. 

Also read: Chahal vs Yadav: It’s time to spin as Rajasthan take on Delhi

However, there has been one instance in the history of the IPL that a team has qualified with 12 points (six wins and eight losses). The Sunrisers Hyderabad pulled it off in 2019. 

Has a team ever qualified with seven losses?

In 2009, the Deccan Chargers made it to the playoffs with 14 points. Kings XI Punjab, also with seven wins, missed out because of an inferior net run rate. The next year, CSK and RCB made it but KKR were out of the race even with seven wins. 

Also read: IPL 2022: CSK captain Ravindra Jadeja hails MS Dhoni, Mukesh Choudhary for brilliant show against MI

IPL 2014 saw the Mumbai Indians pull off a heist in their last group match and kick Rajasthan Royals out of the playoffs. In 2018, RR made it with 14 points. In 2019, SRH qualified with 12 points. 

IPL 2020 had three teams on 14 points. SRH and RCB made it but KKR missed out. The next year, Kolkata Knight Riders qualified with seven losses in their kitty. 

Also read: Dhoni sets up Pollard with straightish fielder, ploy from 2010, 2017 IPL works | Watch

Mumbai Indians’ schedule:

April 24: vs Lucknow Super Giants, 7.30pm IST, Wankhede Stadium

April 30: vs Rajasthan Royals, 7.30pm IST, DY Patil Stadium

May 6: vs Gujarat Titans, 7.30pm IST, Brabourne Stadium

May 9: vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30pm IST, DY Patil Stadium

May 12: vs Chennai Super Kings, 7.30pm IST, Wankhede Stadium

May 17: vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 7.30pm IST, Wankhede Stadium

May 21: vs Delhi Capitals, 7.30pm IST, Wankhede Stadium