Sunil Narine became the fifth batter in the history of the IPL to be run out on the first ball of an innings. The Kolkata Knight Riders star, who was sent to open against the Rajasthan Royals, had to depart following Shimron Hetmyer’s fiery hit at the striker’s end.

After setting up a 218-run target in the first innings, Rajasthan Royals dismissed Kolkata Knight Riders for 210 runs. Sanju Samson and co won the match by seven runs. 

Also read: Leg-spinners are match-winners: RR coach Lasith Malinga after Yuzvendra Chahal’s hattrick

Aaron Finch pushed Trent Boult’s first ball towards cover and kept running with the shot. Narine responded for the risky single but it was too late as Shimron Hetmyer launched a rocket hit at the striker’s end. His fellow West Indies compatriot was left helpless and Aaron Finch guilty. 

Kolkata Knight Riders were left 0/1. Narine’s opening partner Aaron Finch went on to score went on to score 58 runs off 28 balls with the help of nine boundaries and two maximums. 

Also read: RR’s Yuzvendra Chahal talks about unique celebration after hattrick vs KKR

Dismissed run out on the first ball of an IPL innings:

Karan Goel vs RR (2009)

Adam Gilchrist vs RCB (2011)

Murali Vijay vs DC (2012)

Colin Munro vs RR (2018)

Sunil Narine vs RR (2022)

Put into bat, RR rode on Jos Buttler’s 61-ball 103 innings, which was studded with nine boundaries and five maximums, to post a challenging 217 for five. Sanju Samson (38 off 19 balls), Shimron Hetmyer (26 not out off 13 balls), and Devdutt Padikkal (24 off 18 balls) also chipped with useful contributions. In reply, Shreyas Iyer blasted 85 off 51 balls. 

Also read: Watch: Ashwin produces magic ball to dismiss Russell, follows up with victory lap

Yuzvendra Chahal was the most successful bowler for RR, claiming five wickets for 40 in his quota of four overs, while Obed McCoy (2/41) snapped two wickets in the decisive final over.

Brief Score: Rajasthan Royals: 217 for 5 in 20 overs (Jos Buttler 103, Sunile Narine 2/21)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 210 all-out in 19.4 overs (Shreyas Iyer 85, Aaron Finch 58; Yuzvendra Chahal 5/40).