The upcoming 2022 FIFA Club World Cup will be hosted by Morocco as the top football association granted hosting rights to the country for February next year. The tournament which will take place in the first two weeks of February 2023 will see the clubs playing in the traditional seven-team tournament.

Also Read | FIFA snubs Volodymyr Zelensky’s peace message sharing request at 2022 World Cup final: Report

Here is all you need to know about the Club World Cup 2022:

 Dates of the League

The 2022 FIFA Club World Cup, which will mark the 19th edition of the league, will take place from February 1 to February 11, 2023.

Teams Playing

An expected seven teams from six confederations will play in the Club World Cup Tournament. The confirmed teams to play in the league are:

Brazilian sports club Flamengo, from the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL)

Spanish football club Real Madrid, from the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA)

Moroccan sports club Wydad Casablanca, from the Confederation of African Football (CAF)

American soccer club Seattle Sounders, from the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)

New Zealand-based football club Auckland City, from the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)

Egyptian sports club Al Ahly, from the Confederation of African Football (CAF)

The name of the football club scheduled to play from the Asian Football Confederation has not yet been revealed.

Also Read | What prize will the FIFA World Cup 2022 third-place playoff winner get?

Host Appointment

The FIFA Club World Cup, typically played in December on an annual basis, had to be moved to February 2023 due to the scheduling of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, set to hold its final on December 18. On December 16, Morocco was announced as the host for the tournament after being confirmed at the FIFA Council meeting in Doha, Qatar.

Also Read | France can become the third nation to lift two consecutive FIFA World Cups. Who are the other two?

2025 FIFA Club World Cup

The next edition of the Club World Cup will take place in 2025. As it will be the first under an expanded format with 32 teams, the 2023 Club World Cup will be the last of the league to feature seven teams in the tournament.