Morocco goalkeeper Yassine Bounou nearly scored an own goal against Croatia in the FIFA World Cup 2022 match on Saturday. The two sides locked horns at the Al Khalifa International Stadium. The winner will get the bronze medal. 

Also read: Ivana Knöll, ex-Miss Croatia, attends Luka Modric and co’s FIFA World Cup 2022 3rd place tie vs Morocco: Watch

Bounou, who has been hailed for his brilliant goalkeeping in the 2022 World Cup, almost put the ball in his own net in the first minutes of the third place game. 

He sliced a pass across the penalty area, and it ran just past the far post for a Croatia corner.


Croatia took a freekick from 30 yards from goal. Over the wall, the ball reached Perisic, who powered a back header. Josko Gvardiol dived to score a specular header past Bono. Several social media users compared to Dutch legend Robin Van Persie’s flying goal from 2014.

Also read: Who is Achraf Dari? Age, family, net worth, all you need to know

Within two minutes, Achraf Dari of Morocco equalised. He picked an in-swinging free-kick from Hakim Ziyech that hit Luka Modric’s head, only to put the ball past Livakovic from five yards. It was his first international goal. 

Also read: Who is Walid Regragui, head coach of Morocco?

Mislav Orsic restored Croatia’s lead with a perfect placement. 

Croatia led Morocco 2-1 at halftime. 

Also read: Masked-man Joško Gvardiol scores Van Persie-like goal in FIFA WC 2022 third-place playoff vs Morocco: Watch

Lineups for the game:

Croatia (4-2-3-1) Livakovic; Stanisic, Sutalo, Gvardiol, Perisic; Modric, Kovacic; Majer, Kramaric, Orsic; Livaja.Substitutes: Grbic, Ivusic, Barisic, Erlic, Lovren, Brozovic, Vlasic, Pasalic, Petkovic, Budimir, Sosa, Vida, Juranovic, Sucic, Jakic.

Also read: What prize money will the FIFA World Cup 2022 Croatia vs Morocco third-place playoff winner get?

Morocco (4-3-3) Bono; Hakimi, Dari, El Yamiq, Attiat-Allah; Sabiri, Amrabat, El Khannouss; Ziyech, En-Nesyri, Boufal.Substitutes: Aguerd, Saiss, Ounahi, Hamdallah, Zaroury, Chair, El Kajoui, Aboukhlal, Amallah, Ezzalzouli, Cheddira, Tagnaouti, Benoun, Jabrane.

Referee Abdulrahman Al-Jassim (Qatar)