After all the drama that unfolded at the Adelaide Oval, India won the thrilling encounter by 5 runs. Bangladesh’s inning collapsed following the rain break. They lost six wickets in nine overs. When Litton Das was going hammer and tongs, Bangladesh had the game completely under control. When the rain started, they were 66 for no loss and 17 over par on the DLS. Had the rain continued, they would have prevailed.

However, after the rain, things began to change. On the first ball, Das slipped as he was returning for a second, and if that was not a warning enough, on the following ball, he stumbled as he was returning for a second and was run-out by a direct hit from KL. That turned out to be the game’s key moment. From that point on, Bangladesh skied everything up, and India caught them all. Nurul Hasan and Taskin Ahmed hinted at a late heist, but Hardik in the penultimate over and Arshdeep Singh in the final over maintained their composure to prevent India from losing, which would have been nearly fatal for them in the race for the semi-final.

Mohammed Shami dismissed Najmul Hossain Shanto, who was on 21 in 25 balls, in the tenth over. Litton Das was run out in the eighth over after a splendid innings of 60 runs in 27 balls. KL Rahul delivered a direct hit from deep, and Das was sent back by a brilliant piece of fielding. The game resumed at 4:50 p.m. (local time), with 16 overs and a target of 151, according to DLS method. Bangladesh required 85 runs in 9 overs to win the game and earn 2 points.

Rain stopped play at the Adelaide Oval. Notably, DLS par score after 7 overs was 49 runs and Bangladesh was 17 runs ahead of the DLS par score here. Bangladeshis were pleased with their powerplay performance. Litton Das had put pressure on the Indian team by hitting some beautiful shots and scoring 56 runs in just 24 balls. He hit 3 sixes and 7 fours. 

In the first innings, India managed a total of 184 against Bangladesh with the help of half-centuries from Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, as well as two hits from Ashwin in the final over. The bowlers from Bangladesh, on the other hand, really excelled in the final few overs and dismissed 4 Indian middle-order batters (SuryaKumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik and Axar Patel). Hasan Mahmud, who dropped Rohit Sharma in the third over, made up for it by taking 3 wickets for Bangladesh, while Shakib Al Hasan managed to claim 2. Virat Kohli scored an incredible 64 runs for India in 44 balls (eight 4s. one 6). Additionally, making a significant cameo, Suryakumar Yadav scored 30 runs in only 16 balls helping India reach a decent total of 184 against Bangla Tigers.

Virat Kohli, India’s star batter, scored his third fifty of the tournament in just 37 balls, thanks to seven fours. Kohli accomplished the feat in the seventeenth over. Indian opener KL Rahul scored his first half-century of the tournament in the Super 12 match against Bangladesh. He smashed a stunning 50 in 31 runs, thanks to three fours and four sixes. However, on the next ball of Shakib Al Hasan in the tenth over, he handed over his catch to Mustafizur Rahman. India scored 37 runs at the end of the first powerplay while only losing one wicket. Hasan Mahmud took one wicket in the form of Indian captain Rohit Sharma for Bangladesh.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli rewrote history yet again on November 2, surpassing Mahela Jayawardene’s total to become the highest run-scorer in T20 World Cup history. With his 12 against South Africa on Sunday, Kohli joined the 1000-run club in the tournament. The Indian star arrived in Adelaide needing only 16 runs to overtake Jayawardene. The Sri Lankan legend scored 1016 runs in the two T20 World Cups in which he competed. Kohli now has 1064 runs in T20 World Cup history. 

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma got out early in the fourth over with a score of 2 runs in 8 balls. It is worth noting that Hasan Mahmud, the baller who took Rohit’s wicket, dropped the Indian captain’s catch in the third over.

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first against India in the T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 match on November 2 at the Adelaide oval. Both teams made one change to their playing squads. Deepak Hooda got replaced by Axar Patel in the Indian team. Bangladesh, on the other hand, fielded an extra bowler in Shoriful Islam, replacing Soumya Sarkar.

Shakib explained his decision by saying, “We don’t know what is a good score on this wicket. The conditions are also overcast.” On the other hand, Indian captain Rohit Sharma stated that he would have chosen to bat first regardless. “Runs on the board would matter. We would have looked to bat first,” the Indian opener added.

Playing XIs

INDIA – KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel (In for Deepak Hooda), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Arshdeep Singh.

BANGLADESH – Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan (WK), Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam (In for Soumya Sarkar), Taskin Ahmed.