Matches between India and Pakistan are one of the biggest rivalries in the sport of cricket. In their latest installment, both nations will go head-to-head in yet another ICC men’s T20 World Cup clash at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on October 24. While we wait for the highly-anticipated match to begin, here’s a quick look at their first meetings in the sport’s three formats:

October 16-18, 1952:

India and Pakistan met for the first time five years after the partition. Pakistan played their maiden Test match when they stepped into Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground. In their ranks were Abdul Kardar and Amir Elahi who had both played Test cricket for India.

Winning the toss and batting, India scored 372 as Hemu Adhikari (81) scored the highest and last man Ghulam Ahmed hit a solid 50 as they stitched together a 10th wicket partnership of 109.

Pakistan, in reply, captain Hanif Mohammad scored 51 before they collapsed from 64/1 to 150 all out as slow left-arm orthodox Vinoo Mankad returned with the famous figures of 8/52.

Follow on were enforced on Pakistan, Mankad picked yet another five-for (5/79) as Pakistan were wrapped up for 152 with India securing victory by an innings and 70 runs.

October 1, 1978:

After Pakistan won the Test series 2-0, the teams played their first ODI series against each other as they engaged in a 3-match series. India made 170/7 in 40 overs with Mohinder Armanath hitting a calculated 51. Comfortably at 82/1 at one stage, they crumbled down to 166/8 and lost the match by four runs.

In the 2nd game, Pakistan leveled the series by winning the encounter by 8 wickets at Sialkot only to see the third match end in controversy.

India was close to a victory in the 3rd ODI. However, Indian captain Bishan Bedi was left unimpressed after four consecutive bouncers by Sarfraz Nawaz were not adjudged wide. In protest, Bedi conceded the match.

September 14, 2007:

The two arch-rivals met in a T20 International for the first time at the 2007 World Cup. During this edition, both teams met each other twice. Once during the group stage, the second time was in the finals.

In the group stage, after the match was tied, India won the tie via bowl-out. And in the final, India defeated its rivals narrowly to register a five-run victory and lift the inaugural edition of the World Cup.

Later in 2009, Pakistan went on to lift the elusive title.