After eleven years, New Zealand has finally defeated Australia in AustraliaDevon Conway is named Man of the Match for scoring 92 runs in 58 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. New Zealand crushed the reigning champions, Australia, by 89 runs, playing incredibly clinically. Trent Boult (2/24) and Tim Southee (3/6) established the tone for New Zealand.

Mitchell Santner, a left-arm spinner, took three wickets while bowling (3/31). Allen and Conway’s opening partnership made 56 runs off of just 25 balls. Finn made a 42 on a 16-ball. Conway and captain Kane Williamson then shared an effective second-wicket stand of 69 runs (23). James Neesham’s 13-ball 26 helped New Zealand finish on a high note. In just 24 balls, Conway and Neeshan put together an unbroken 48 runs for the fourth wicket.

With only four overs remaining in the match, Australia lost seven wickets for 109 runs. The Kangaroos required 92 runs to win in 24 balls. At the end of the tenth over, the Australians were at 62 for the loss of four wickets. Glenn Phillips took a sensational catch in the ninth over to dismiss Stoinis, who had scored seven runs in 14 balls. 

Also Read| T20 World Cup Australia vs New Zealand: Watch Glenn Phillips take gravity-defying catch

New Zealand took three wickets by the end of the fifth over of the second innings, stopping the Kangaroos at 34. Tim Southee dismissed David Warner (5 in 5 balls) in the first over and Mitchell Marsh (16 in 12 balls) in the fifth, while Mitchell Santner dismissed Aaron Finch (13 in 11 balls) in the fourth over.

And at the end of the first innings, New Zealand scored 200 runs while losing three wickets. For Australia, Hazlewood had two wickets in the form of Phillips and Allen, while Zampa had Williamson. Conway led the Black Caps to a respectable total with a brilliant inning of 92 runs in 58 balls. James Neesham put on a spectacular performance in the final overs by scoring 26 points on 13 balls.

Also read| T20 World Cup: New Zealand win in Australia for the first time in 11 years

By the end of the fifteenth over of the first innings, Australia had taken two wickets. New Zealand had 144 runs thanks to Conway’s brilliant half-century. Glenn Phillips was playing at 7 in 6 balls while Conway was playing at 70 in 45. Kane Williamson, the Black Caps’ skipper, was out for 23 runs in 23 balls in the 13th over by Adam Zampa.

New Zealand scored 97 runs on the loss of one wicket after 10 overs. Conway had 42 runs in 28 balls and Williamson had 12 runs in 16 balls. Their partnership thrived, with 41 runs in 35 balls. Australia gave up 37 runs in the last five overs.

New Zealand scored 60 runs and lost one wicket after five overs of the first innings. Josh Hazlewood of Australia bowled Finn Allen, who was on 42 in 16 balls. Devon Conway (14 runs off 9 balls) and Kane Williamson (4 runs off 4 balls) were at the crease.

The action shifted to Sydney as Australia and New Zealand played the opening match of the Super 12s of the T20 World Cup 2022 after a number of exciting and dramatic matches in the first round. Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Playing Xi for the teams

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne, Trent Boult

Good batting pitch is predicted for the match

A good batting pitch was predicted for the match. The average score at this location is 162, with the first innings’ average score hovering around 165. Last year’s beaten finalists, New Zealand, are undoubtedly among the favourites in this year’s competition.