Virat Kohli was dismissed for a duck in India’s Asia Cup 2022 Super 4 game against Sri Lanka on Tuesday. The two sides lock horns at the Dubai International Stadium. 

Kohli was visibly disappointed. Pacer Dilshan Madushanka’s good length ball swung across the line and came inside to hit the star batter’s stumps. The bowler took off his aeroplane in celebration. 

Also read: Ravichandran Ashwin’s T20I stats vs Sri Lanka

India were reduced to 52/2 in the eighth over.


Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl. Dasun Shanaka and co got their first wicket on the fifth ball of the innings. M Theekshana’s low-dipping full-toss swung inside to strike the boots of opener KL Rahul. The batter had stepped out but missed the flick. A DRS review showed that the ball was clipping the leg-stump. KL Rahul scored six runs in seven balls with the help of one boundary. 

Also read: Asia Cup 2022: Why Ashwin replaced Bishnoi in India’s 11 vs Sri Lanka

Ravichandran Ashwin replaced Ravi Bishnoi in India’s playing 11 for the Super 4 game. 

“With the dew, we need to learn the lines, the lengths and the boundaries well. The grass is lesser tonight. It looks drier, and we have one change on the basis of the Sri Lankan team: Ashwin comes in for Bishnoi,” skipper Rohit Sharma said at the toss. 

Also read: Suresh Raina retires: His 5 best knocks in Indian colours

“”The pitch doesn’t change much and it only gets better to bat on. This gives us an opportunity to come out and play freely. This is how the World Cup would be played as well, and we have to make sure that we don’t lose too many games. We need to ensure that we are there from the word go,” he added. 

The teams: 

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (WK), Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka (C), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka