It all started in 1882, when Australia beat England at the Oval. Ever since, the countries continue to play off against each other to claim one of the most famous trophies in the world of cricket, the Ashes urn.

Every two years or so, the rival duo England and Australia gear up for the Ashes, a special series of Test matches.

Held alternatively in both countries, this year’s series is set to be hosted in Australia’s The Gabba, Brisbane. The rivalry will begin on December 8 and is sure to bring on cricket fever for the Aussies and Brits.

Also Read: Ashes: Adelaide to host 2nd Test, decision on 5th Test in Perth imminent

As the actual trophy is too delicate, the winning players are given a replica of the same. The Marylebone Cricket Club Museum, located in Lord’s cricket ground is home to the original trophy.

Currently, Australia holds the Ashes. In totality, Australia has won 33 series, while England has won 32. Six series have been drawn and so, this year’s Ashes is a rather crucial one.

England’s beloved and one of the greatest bowlers in the history of cricket, James Anderson will be playing the series this year, after suffering from injuries the previous year.

Also Read: The Ashes: Australia names playing XI; Travis Head, Mitchell Starc included

England also has its captain Joe Root, another key player in the England cricket team. He broke the English record of the most centuries, six of them in this year. Back in 2013’s Ashes, Root became the youngest England player to score an incredible century.

On the other hand, Australia has its captain, Steve Smith, the top batsman and one of the best in the world.

 Josh Hazlewood is another key player in the Australian cricket team, with his exceptional bowling skills that leave batsmen bewildered.

The countries also have Ashes for their women’s cricket teams. The first test series was played in 1934. The teams have been playing every 2 years since 2001.