Ravindra Jadeja, who was named as Chennai Super Kings’ new captain on Thursday, said he is not worried about the new responsiblities. The all-rounder replaces MS Dhoni, who led the team since the inaugural IPL season. 

Also read: MS Dhoni’s last moment as Chennai Super Kings captain | Watch

Jadeja will take the field as captain for the first time when Chennai Super Kings lock horns with the Kolkata Knight Riders on March 26 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

Reacting to being announced as captain, Jadeja said that he understands that Dhoni has left a big legacy behind. CSK, in a video posted on social media, shared the 33-year-old’s message in a Twitter video. 

Also read: Raina ‘absolutely thrilled’ after Jadeja announced as new CSK captain

“Feeling good, at the same time, I also have to fill in big boots. Mahi Bhai has already set a big legacy so I need to carry it forward,” Jadeja said in the video.

He, however, added that like Dhoni will be his go to person. 

“I do not need to worry too much because he is here. Mahi Bhai will be my go-to person. He was and he still is today. So, I am not worried, thank you for your wishes and love. Keep supporting us,” Jadeja added.

In a statement on Thursday, CSK announced that Jadeja will be the third player to lead the franchise. MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina are the first two. 

Also read: MS Dhoni’s record as Chennai Super Kings captain

“MS Dhoni has decided to hand over the leadership of Chennai Super Kings and picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team. Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK,” said CSK. 

“Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond,” the franchise added.

CSK Squad: MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Subhranshu Senapati, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Varma.