Team India captain Virat Kohli won the International Cricket Council men's ODI player of the decade award on Monday. The title of the best Test cricketer of the decade went to Australia's Steve Smith, while Afghanistan leggie Rashid Khan was awarded the Men's T20I cricketer of the decade award.

Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket award. "The former India captain was chosen by fans unanimously for his gesture of calling back England batsman Ian Bell after a bizarre run out in the Nottingham Test in 2011," the ICC said on its official Twitter handle.

Kohli scored a mammoth 20,396 runs in international cricket during the awards period. This included 66 centuries and 94 half-centuries. He had a staggering average of 56.97, the highest among players who had played 70+ innings. 

Afghanistan leg spinner Rashid Khan picked 89 wickets in this decade at an average of 12.62 in T20I cricket. After winning the T20I cricketer of the decade award, Khan said, "I am speechless after this award and happy for the fans. For someone from Afghanistan to get this award, it's a special moment for me."

Australia's Elysse Perry swept the women's awards, securing the ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade honours alongside ODI and T20 Cricketers of the Decade award.Cancel