Polling for the third phase of West Bengal assembly elections started at 7 am pm on Tuesday. According to the Election Commission, 77.68% voter turnout was recorded till 7.11 pm. A total of 31 out of 294 assembly constituencies are voting in this phase. Votes for the eight-phased assembly elections 2021 will be counted on May 2.

The fierce battle for the reigns of one of India's politically dominant regions--West Bengal will witness tough competition between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress, and the left front consisting of the joint force of Congress, CPI(M), and Indian Secular Front.

Also Read| 'Mamata Banerjee is a fighter': SP's Jaya Bachchan backs TMC in West Bengal

The state has seen some high decibel drama and name-calling during the campaign trail with chief minister Mamata Banerjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah among many others engaging in nasty war of words.

For Trinamool, the election prep started with a mass exodus of its key players, including Mamata Banerjee's closes aide and confidant Suvendu Adhikari joining the rival saffron camp.

Also Read| With videos, rallies and articles, celebs lend support to political parties in West Bengal

The BJP, on the other hand, had made sure that no stones are left unturned by sending all their best players from Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, and JP Nadda among several others screaming at the top of their voice to overturn the power.

With all the high voltage drama and controversies in mind, the Election Commission of India on Monday imposed Section 144 of CrPC in all 31 constituencies on Monday.