Brett Goldstein has won the Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for his role as Roy Kent in Ted Lasso. This is Goldstein’s second Emmy for the role.  

Ted Lasso is an American sports drama series. The series follows Ted Lasso (Jason Sudeikis) an American college football coach who is hired to coach an English team. Goldstein’s character, Roy Kent is a veteran box-to-box midfielder, captain, and later assistant coach of AFC Richmond, a fictional football club.

Also Read: Ted Lasso helps Jason Sudeikis bag another Emmy in 2022 award show

The series also stars Hannah Waddingham, Juno Temple, Nick Mohammed, Jermy Swift, Phil Dunster, Brendan Hunt, Sarah Niles, and Toheeb Jimoh in key roles. The first 10 episodes of Ted Lasso premiered on Apple TV+ on August 14, 2020, with three episodes airing together followed by weekly installments.

The second season, 12 episodes, premiered in July 2021. In October 2020, the series was renewed for a third season. 

Brett Goldstein, 42, was recently also revealed to be playing the role of Hercules in the mid-credits scenes of Thor: Love and Thunder. There has been talk about him playing a larger part within the Marvel Comics Universe.

As per The Direct, Thor: Love and Thunder director Taika Waititi revealed that the decision to cast Goldstein as Hercules came from Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige. He also said that he doesn’t know the specifics about Hercules’ MCU future, saying that it is not sure if the tease at the end is meant for “future Thor movies or something else entirely”. 

Also Read: Emmys 2022: Murray Bartlett gets first career win for The White Lotus role

The British actor was competing for the Emmy with Anthony Carrigan (Barry), Bowen Yang (Saturday Night Live), Henry Winkler (Berry), Nick Mohammed (Ted Lasso), Toheeb Jomoh (Ted Lasso), Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) and Tyler James Williams (Abbott Elementary). 

Jason Sudeikis has won an Emmy too for his eponymous role in Ted Lasso. Ted Lasso has also won for best comedy series.