The 79th Venice Film Festival will take place from August 31 – September 10, 2022, and actor Julianne Moore is set to preside over the International Jury of the Competition, which assigns the Golden Lion – the highest achievement at the festival, as well as other official awards. 

The board of La Biennale di Venezia made the decision, acting on the proposal of the festival director, Alberto Barbera. 

The awards they’ll give away are as follows: Golden Lion for Best Film, Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize, Silver Lion for Best Director, Coppa Volpi for Best Actress, Coppa Volpi for Best Actor, Special Jury Prize, Award for Best Screenplay, “Marcello Mastroianni” Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress.

Also Read | The elusive brace: 9 directors who have won 2 Palme d’Or prizes at Cannes

Along with Moore, the other judges are Mariano Cohn (Argentina) director, screenwriter and producer, Leonardo Di Costanzo (Italy) director and screenwriter, Audrey Diwan (France), director, Leila Hatami (Iran) actress, Kazuo Ishiguro (Japan-Great Britain) author and screenwriter, and Rodrigo Sorogoyen (Spain) director, screenwriter and producer. 

Julianne Moore 

Moore has won both the Academy and Emmy Awards and is the first American woman to win top prizes at the Berlin, Venice, and Cannes film festivals. She has over 70 films to her name. 

Also Read | From Song Kang Ho to ‘Triangle of Sadness’: Full list of 2022 Cannes winners

Mariano Cohn 

The film director, screenwriter and producer has made ten feature films including ‘4×4’ that received international acclaim. Cohn’s most recent movie is ‘Official Competition’ which stars Penélope Cruz, Antonio Banderas and Oscar Martínez in lead roles. It premiered at the Venice festival last year. 

Leonardo Di Costanzo

In 2013, Leonardo Di Costanzo won the David di Donatello award for best debut director for helming ‘The Interval – L’intervallo’. He also won the David di Donatello for best screenplay most recently, for ‘The Inner Cage – Ariaferma’. 

Audrey Diwan

Diwan’s a filmmaker, author, and screenwriter, who’s collaborated with the likes of Gilles Lellouche and Cédric Jimenez. Diwan won the Golden Lion in Venice in 2021 for ‘Happening – L’évènement’. 

Also Read | A history of walkouts: Crimes of the Future, Crash and Cronenberg at Cannes

Leila Hatami

Hatami is a Tehran-born actor. She became globally known for her role in Asghar Farhadi’s ‘A Separation’, which won her the Silver Bear in Berlinale 65. Hatami was a member of the Cannes jury in 2014. 

Kazuo Ishiguro

The Nobel Prize-winning novelist and screenwriter was born in Nagasaki but moved to the UK when he was five. Ishiguro’s books, like ‘The Remains of the Day’ and ‘Never Let Me Go’ have been adapted into acclaimed movies. 

Rodrigo Sorogoyen

The director, screenwriter and producer saw his short film ‘Madre’ nominated for an Oscar in 2019 and his movie ‘The Candidate’ won seven Goya awards in 2019.