Australian limited-overs skipper Aaron Finch was released by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Retention Day following an underwhelming Indian Premier League (IPL) season in 2020. And his underwhelming performances from last season ensured no team bid for the hard-hitting Aussie. 

Also Read | Full list of unsold players in IPL 2021 auction

This saw him miss out on a unique record, representing as many as nine different franchises in the cash-rich league. Already the ultimate IPL vagabond, Finch has played for more sides in the competition’s history, with RCB, who he represented in last year’s delayed tournament, being his eighth different team.

But the Bangalore-based franchise, having never won the coveted title, released the most players as they look for a revamp ahead of the 14th edition of the showpiece event. 

Also Read | IPL 2021 auction: Full list of sold players

And one of their under-performers last season was the Australian opener Finch, who scored just 268 runs in 12 matches in the United Arab Emirates, including just one fifty. 

Finch has featured in a total of 10 IPL seasons so far, after making his debut in 2010 with the Rajasthan Royals. He then moved on to the Delhi Daredevils for the 2011 and 2012 seasons, before being snapped up the Sahara Pune Warriors in 2013.

Finch then played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014 and then won the title with the Mumbai Indians in 2015.

Also Read | IPL 2021 auction: MS Dhoni’s presence felt with ‘definitely not’ t-shirts

The 34-year-old switched to Gujarat Lions for the 2016 and 2017 IPL seasons and got his sixth franchise when the Kings XI Punjab coughed up Rs 6.2 crores for his services in 2018. 

He opted out of the 2019 season to prepare for the 2019 ICC ODI World Cup and was picked by Virat Kohli’s RCB for 2020. 

Year Team
2010 Rajasthan Royals
2011 Delhi Daredevils
2012 Delhi Daredevils
2013 Pune Warriors India
2014 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Gujarat Lions
2017 Gujarat Lions
2018 Kings XI Punjab
2020 Royal Challengers Bangalore

Finch’s compatriot Steve Smith and Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera, along with Indian players Ishant Sharma, Dinesh Karthik and Parthiv Patel, are next in the list of players with most IPL teams, having played for six teams each.