Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), one of the two franchises that debuted in the IPL 2022 edition, has announced its retention list ahead of the IPL 2023 auction. This year a mini-auction will be held on December 23, unlike the previous edition of IPL, where only one mega auction was held.

The BCCI instructed all 10 franchises to announce their list of retentions and releases before November 15.

Also Read| IPL 2023: List of released players announced

LSG has released 7 players in total. Among them is Manish Pandey, the most high-profile player the franchise has dropped. Pandey managed to score only 88 runs in IPL 2022. Jason Holder, West Indies all-rounder who could not display an exceptional performance as well, has been released from the team. Dushmantha Chameera and Evin Lewis have also been omitted from the franchise.

The KL Rahul-led side has several match winners retained, such as Quinton de Kock, Deepak Hooda, and Ravi Bishnoi. The captain was the star player in IPL 2022 edition, who proved to be a top run-getter, securing 616 runs in just 15 matches. He was the second-highest run-getter in the tournament. Kock followed Rahul with 508 runs in the entire tournament. Hooda, on the other hand, scored 451 runs.

Also Read| IPL 2023: Remaining purse value of all 10 franchises

LSG managed to reach the playoffs, but lost in the eliminators against RCB (Royal Challengers Bangalore) and were kicked out of the tournament later.

The franchise is looking to strengthen the squad, especially their middle order, which gave a lackluster performance.

Here’s a full list of retained, released players and the remaining purse-

Lucknow Super Giants retained players: KL Rahul (capt), Ayush Badoni, Karan Sharma, Manan Vohra, Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Hooda, Kyle Mayers, Krunal Pandya, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi

Lucknow Super Giants released players: Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Dushmantha Chameera, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Manish Pandey, Shahbaz Nadeem

Purse remaining: INR 23.35 crore