The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that it will conduct bypolls to one Lok Sabha and 56 assembly seats on November 3 and 7, news agency PTI reported. Counting of votes will be done on November 10.

On November 3, by-elections to 54 assembly constituencies in Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Nagaland, Odisha, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh will be conducted.

Bypolls to one Lok Sabha seat in Bihar and two assembly seats in Manipur will be held on November 7, the commission announced.

Also Read: Virtual campaigns, role of social media: CEC Sunil Arora announces guidelines for Bihar polls

Before announcing the schedule, the poll panel had issued a separate statement on Tuesday to announce that it has decided not to hold assembly bypolls in seven seats across Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Assam and West Bengal “at this stage” after specific request from the states.

In a statement, the EC said it had received inputs from poll officials and chief secretaries of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.

“In view of the above, the Commission has decided not to announce the conduct of elections at this stage in the seven vacancies in legislative assemblies of the states of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal,” it said.