The Rampur Assembly
Constituency has Kaul Negi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Nand Lal from
the Indian National Congress (INC), Uday Singh Dogra of the Aam Aadmi Party
(AAP) in a three-way contest for this year’s Himachal Pradesh Assembly

According to political
analysts, the state’s first election since the Covid-19 pandemic will focus on
anti-incumbency, inflation, and unemployment. Himachal Pradesh has been
alternately governed by Congress and BJP governments since 1985.

The BJP had won 44 of
Himachal’s 68 assembly constituencies last time and the Congress had won 21.
The CPM had won one seat. A party needs to win 35 seats for a majority to form
the government in the state.

Also Read | 5 issues Himachalis will be voting on this election

In 2017, Nand Lal of the Congress
defeated Prem Singh Daraik of the BJP by 4,037 votes. Vivek Kashyap of the
Communist Party Party of India Marxist (CPM), Suresh Singh Saini of the Bahujan
Samaj Party (BSP), and independent candidate Singhi Ram also contested the
elections in 2017. 

Rampur is one of the 68 assembly constituencies in Himachal
Pradesh. Rampur falls under the Shimla district and Mandi Lok Sabha
Constituency. Rampur has more than 74,000 eligible voters. This constituency is reserved
for Scheduled Caste candidates. 

In 2012, Nand Lal of the Congress
defeated Prem Singh Draik of the BJP by 9,095 votes. Niju Ram of the Himachal
Lokhit Party (HLP), Chet Ram of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independent
candidate Lokinder Chauhan also contested the HP Assembly Elections in 2012. 

Also Read | Himachal Pradesh polls: 90% Congress candidates crorepatis, BJP 82%

Himachal Pradesh votes in a
single round on November 12. Results will be announced on December 8.

Quick facts about the Rampur
Assembly seat  

Name of the assembly
constituency, district: Rampur, Shimla district

Polling date: November 12, 2022

Sitting MLA, party: Nand Lal,

Key candidates, party in 2022:
Uday Singh Dogra (AAP), Kaul Negi (BJP), Nand Lal (INC)

Winning candidate, party in
2017: Nand Lal, INC

Runner-up name, party 2017:
Prem Singh Daraik, BJP

Winning margin in 2017: 4037

Top 3 candidates 2017:  
Nand Lal (INC), Prem Singh Daraik (BJP), Singhi Ram (Independent)

Top 3 candidates 2012: 
Prem Singh Daraik (BJP),  Nand Lal (INC), Niju Ram (HLP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Mandi