Tuesday marked the sixth day in a row when India recorded more than 200,000 daily COVID-19 cases, pushing the case numbers in the country to 15,321,089. Witnessing a sharp spike in recent weeks, many states in India have resorted to lockdowns and restrictions. Entry into many states now requires a COVID negative report.

Listed below are the states which require an RT-PCR test
before entrance:

Himachal Pradesh: On April 11, the state of
Himachal Pradesh made it mandatory for people entering the state from Punjab,
Delhi, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh to show a
negative RT-PCR test report for entry after April 16.

Also read: Third Phase of COVID-19 vaccination to begin from May 1 : All you need to know

Rajasthan: For people coming from other states,
entering Rajasthan would require a negative report from a RT-PCR test conducted
within 72 hours before entering Rajasthan.

Gujarat: The Gujarat government has made it
mandatory for everyone travelling to the state to provide a negative report of
an RT-PCR test done within 72 hours of travelling to Gujarat.

Delhi: In case of Delhi, one would require a
COVID-negative certificate if the person’s starting point is Maharashtra,
Kerala or Punjab. This rule is applicable irrespective of the medium of transport.

West Bengal: The West Bengal government has made
it mandatory for travellers from Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala and Telangana
to carry COVID-19 negative reports. According to the rules, passengers would
have to undergo an RT-PCR test within 72 hours from departure.

Also read: Britain adds India to COVID ‘red list’. Can Indians still travel to UK?

Assam: Passengers arriving in trains starting
from or passing through stations in Maharashtra and Karnataka will be screened
for symptoms in railway stations. For those who are symptomatic, a COVID 19 test
would be conducted.  In case of a
positive report, the traveller would be sent for either home isolation or institutional
isolation. All passengers arriving from Mumbai and Bangalore would have the
produce a negative report from a RT-PCR test conducted within 72 hours prior to
starting the journey.

Odisha: Outsiders entering the state via train,
flight, waterways, bus or a private vehicle will have to produce either a negative
RT-PCR test report and final vaccination certificate. Those not carrying either
documents will have to quarantine for a week.

Meghalaya: People coming from Maharashtra,
Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Delhi, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya
Pradesh, Chandigarh and Gujarat will have to carry negative RT-PCR test results.
RAT reports will not be considered as valid for those coming from these states.

Maharashtra: Those coming from Goa, Delhi,
Gujarat and Rajasthan would require a negative RT-PCR report not older than
three or four days before their arrival. Anyone not carrying the certificate
would have to get tested after arrival at their own cost.

Also read: India announces COVID-19 vaccine for those above 18: How to register

Kashmir: Passengers coming to Kashmir by road will
need to undergo coronavirus test in Srinagar.

Uttarakhand: RT PCR tests have been made compulsory
for those travelling from Maharashtra, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat and Madhya