Hardik Pandya, for the first time in his eight-season old IPL career, will face Rohit Sharma and the Mumbai Indians. The Gujarat Titans meet the five-time champions at the Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai on Friday. 

For Gujarat, the tie vs Mumbai is simply about sealing a berth in the IPL 2022 playoffs. The team is sitting at the top of the points table with eight wins in 10 games. 

Also read: Rovman Powell clobbers fastest ball of IPL 2022 for a boundary | Watch

However, Pandya and come to this game at the back of an eight-wicket loss to Punjab Kings, which snapped their five-game winning streak. The game saw the Titans bat first and set an under-par 144-run target. Their batters, especially the top-order failed, and that has been an issue for long. 

GT’s strength lies in their middle order – Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan, who have produced match-winning performances throughout the season. The likes of Mohammed Shami, Lockie Ferguson and Alzzari Joseph have done well with the ball. 

Also read: IPL 2022: ‘Ultimate team man’ David Warner sacrificed ton for Delhi Capitals’ cause vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, scored their first win of their season when they beat Rajasthan Royals by five wickets. With one triumph in nine matches, Rohit Sharma and co are at the bottom of the table and well off the playoffs race. 

Teams (from): Gujarat Titans: Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Gurkeerat Singh, B Sai Sudharsan, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (Captain), Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Matthew Wade, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Wriddhiman Saha, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Dominic Drakes, Jayant Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, Pradeep Sangwan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Varun Aaron, Yash Dayal.

Also read: IPL 2022 : How have retained players performed thus far, from Virat Kohli to MS Dhoni

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Ramandeep Singh, SuryakumarYadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thampi, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Jofra Archer, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith, Tymal Mills, Kartikeya Singh, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Fabian Allen, Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Juyal and Ishan Kishan.

Match starts at 7.30 PM.