BCCI Secretary Jay Shah announced
that the IPL 2022 playoff stage will be conducted in Ahmedabad and Kolkata. The
mega final will be held on May 29 at the Narendra Modi Stadium, with
Qualifier 2 taking place on May 27. On the May 24 and 25, the Qualifier 1 and
Eliminator will be held respectively in Eden Gardens.

The first IPL 2022 match took place on March 26, 2022, and
the final is set to be held on May 29, 2022. 47 of the 70 league matches
have already been played and the points table is at an interesting juncture
with this season’s newest addition, Gujarat Titans at the top.

Also read: IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders’ Rinku Singh predicted his big score before Rajasthan Royals tie

With 16 points from nine games, Gujarat Titans (GT) currently leads the
rankings. The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) are in second place with 14 points,
and Rajasthan Royals (RR) in third with 12 points.

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) is fourth, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is fifth, both
teams with 10 points in hand.

With 8 points, Punjab Kings (PBKS), Kolkata Knight Riders
(KKR) and Delhi Capitals (DC) are eighth, seventh and sixth respectively.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is at ninth place with 6 points
and Mumbai Indians (MI) are at the bottom of the points table with only 2

Also read: How key are Chahal, Ashwin to Rajasthan Royals? Loss vs KKR explains

The top four teams at the end of the league matches will
advance to the tournament’s playoffs. Each team is playing only 14 league
games despite the entry of two additional teams this season. So, to
qualify for the playoffs, 16 points should be enough for any team.

GT has already scored 16 points, securing their
position in the playoffs. However, Mumbai Indians, one of the most successful teams
of IPL will not reach the playoffs this season as they will only be able
to earn a maximum of 12 points this season, 4 less than the qualifying score.

Also read: MS Dhoni back as captain is going to be good for CSK: Sunil Gavaskar

For the unversed, the playoff is the next stage after the league games are played. Four teams qualify and compete to determine the finalists. The number one and number two teams would compete in Qualifier 1, the
winner of which would progress directly to the IPL finals.