Having won the three-match ODI series, India will have opportunity to experiment in the third game – a dead rubber – at the Harare Sports Club on Monday. KL Rahul and co will also look to clean sweep Zimbabwe with a win. 

Also read: Watch: Sanju Samson responds to fans’ chants with a huge six

The first two ODIs saw Indian bowlers completely dominate the hosts. The likes of Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar stepped up and provided key breakthroughs. After a stunning 10-wicket win in the first game, the Men in Blue emerged victorious by five wickets in the second. 

Stand-in skipper KL Rahul has done quite well to keep the players motivated enough to go out in the middle, grab the chances with both hands, and cement their places in the side that is gearing up for big battles in the coming times.

Also read: David Warner set to return to Big Bash League in 2023 after 10 years

However, the only time he batted in the series was in the second ODI. The skipper’s stay at the crease was limited to five balls. He scored only one run. Shikhar Dhawan (33 off 21) got off to a flying start but could not convert it into a big score. Shubman Gill, who has been in brilliant form, made 33. 

The top-scorer for India was Sanju Samson, who scored an unbeaten 43 off 39 balls. He finished the match with a maximum over long-on in the 26th over. 

Also read: UAE minister unveils Asia Cup 2022 trophy in Abu Dhabi

The extremely talented Shubhman Gill should not be be content with whatever he has achieved so far on the tour, and will certainly look to have another go at the Zimbabwe bowlers.

In the absence of the front-line bowlers, this attack has performed extremely well and showed what it is capable of, and the quality of opposition is no reason to undermine the efforts of committed people like Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna and Axar Patel.

Among the batters, Ishan Kishan, if he gets another chance to bat, will look to overcome the failure of the second game with a good knock.

Also read: India A vs New Zealand A: Squads, schedule, venues announced

Teams (from): India: KL Rahul (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shahbaz Ahmed.

Zimbabwe: Regis Chakabva (C), Ryan Burl, Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans , Luke Jongwe , Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano , Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga , Richard Ngarava , Victor Nyauchi , Sikandar Raza , Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano.

Match Starts: 12:45pm IST.