The Asia Cup 2022 trophy was unveiled in Abu Dhabi on Saturday, August 20. One of the most anticipated tournaments this year, the Asia Cup will see several top teams such as India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh participate in it. The tournament is set to begin on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) when Sri Lanka faces Afghanistan, followed by a mega match between arch-rivals India and Pakistan, who take the centre stage the next day.

The Asia Cup 2022 trophy was unveiled by UAE minister Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan on Saturday. This is the second consecutive time the Asia Cup is being hosted in the gulf. While the Asia Cup 2022 was originally scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka, the growing political unrest forced the tournament to be shifted to the UAE, with Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) hosting the matches.

Also Read: India A vs New Zealand A: Squads, schedule, venues announced

“The Asia Cup 2022 trophy was unveiled in Abu Dhabi earlier today by His Highness, Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and the Chairman Emirates Cricket Board,” a statement issued by UAE Cricket read. 

Apart from the minister, Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) general secretary Mubashshir Usmani, SLC president Shammi Silva, SLC CEO Ashley de Silva, ECB advisor Subhan Ahmed and others were present during the unveiling ceremony.

The Asia Cup 2022 will see six teams, divided into two groups play it. While India, Pakistan and a qualifying country make up Group A, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are in Group B. The matches will be played in Dubai and Sharjah. Two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals.

Also Read: David Warner set to return to Big Bash League in 2023 after 10 years

All of the participating countries have announced their squads for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. The Indian cricket team squad will be led by Rohit Sharma with KL Rahul as his deputy. Senior players like Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin have also returned to the national team for the tournament.

India squad for Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan