Kananur Lokesh Rahul is an Indian cricketer and is the current vice-captain of the Indian national cricket team in all formats. In domestic cricket, he represents Karnataka. He is the current captain of the Indian Premier League’s Lucknow Super Giants. He bats right-handed and serves as a wicket-keeper.

Rahul made his international debut in 2014, and in his second Test match, he got his first Test century. He was the first Indian to strike a century on his One Day International debut and only the third Indian to achieve a century in all three formats of international cricket.

Also Read | IPL 2022: SWOT analysis of SunRisers Hyderabad

KL Rahul was born in Bangalore on April 18, 1992. Rahul bats first in T20Is and Tests and now bats in the middle order for India in ODIs. KL Rahul is one of India’s most highly ranked opening batsmen in the next generation.  He is a naturally aggressive hitter who can change gears depending on the occasion.

Rahul made his Indian Premier League (IPL) debut in 2013 for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) as a wicketkeeper-batsman. He was purchased by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for Rs 1 crore ahead of the 2014 IPL season before returning to RCB for the 2016 IPL season.

Also Read | IPL 2022: Possible XI of Lucknow Super Giants

Rahul concluded the 2016 IPL season with Royal Challengers Bangalore as the 11th top run-scorer and RCB’s third, with 397 runs from 14 matches. He was appointed wicketkeeper in the Cricinfo and Cricbuzz IPL XIs for his efforts during the 2016 IPL season. Rahul was out for the whole 2017 season owing to a shoulder injury.

He was purchased by Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the 2018 IPL Auction for Rs 11 crore, and on December 19, 2019, Rahul was formally confirmed as the captain of the Kings XI Punjab for the 2020 IPL, after former captain Ravichandran Ashwin was sold to Delhi Capitals.

Also Read | IPL 2022: Possible XI of Delhi Capitals

Prior to the 2022 season, Rahul left the Punjab Kings and was made the captain of the Lucknow Super Giants for Rs 17 crore, making him the joint highest-paid player in the Indian Premier League with Virat Kohli.