Arjun Tendulkar was not included in Mumbai Indians’ playing 11 against the Delhi Capitals on Saturday. The game, MI’s last this season, saw the five-time champions go with Dewald Brevis for Tristian Stubbs and Hrithik Shokeen came in place of an inured Sanjay Yadav. 

Also read: IPL 2022: RCB, with playoff hopes clinging on Mumbai Indians, go all blue

However, Arjun, the son of cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, did not get a spot. 

Ahead of the game, there was a lot of chatter on social media about MI giving the 22-year-old a chance, especially when they are already eliminated from the tournament. Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma, at the toss against Sunrisers Hyderabad, had said that the team wants to look at other players for the next season. 

Also read: Baby Malinga part of CSK’s plans for IPL 2023, skipper MS Dhoni confirms

“We just want to try out some things, and it works when we have a score in front of us… We want to look at certain players with an eye on next year. We want to have a look at them before making a decision for next year. It is important that the core group plays. We want to keep certain aspects of our Mumbai team. We have one more game after this, and we can try a few more guys in that game,” he said. 

Arjun Tendulkar was seen with a tape marking run-ups ahead of the game. But Sharma did not even mention him at the toss. 

Also Read: IPL 2022: Top 5 batters with the most 50s this season

“We are going to bowl first. Good track. Wanted to have a score in front of us. Crucial for us that we restrict them and then bat freely. We were inconsistent throughout the season. The talk in the group is that we need to come together. There will be a few eyes on us, so we got to come up with the best. We have tried a few things in the last few games keeping an eye on the future,” the MI skipper said. 

Tendulkar was bought by Mumbai in 2021 IPL for Rs 20 lakh. He was repurchased at Rs 30 lakh in 2022. The 22-year-old has been benched by the side for consecutive seasons. 


Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Sarfaraz Khan, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Daniel Sams, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith, Mayank Markande