The Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations by the Indian government have resulted in many spectacular events taking place to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the country’s Independence. However, the highlight of the celebrations will take centre stage when the Legends League Cricket returns with an Independence Day special match between India Maharajas and World Giants on September 16.

It was announced that the match will be played at one of India’s iconic stadiums, the Eden Gardens, on September 16. The Indian government had asked the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to organise the match on August 22, however, it could be organised on the date because of multiple ongoing international fixtures.

Also Read: India Maharajas vs World Giants, Independece Day special: Squads, timings and live stream details

The India Maharajas will see several high-profile former Indian players, led by former captain Sourav Ganguly, who is also from Kolkata. Apart from Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, the Pathan brothers, Harbhajan Singh, Ajay Jadeja and S Sreesanth will also be a part of the Indian side.

However, since the announcement of the match, the fans have been questioning how the team will be lining up in the match. Let’s take a look at it.

Probable Lineups: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Naman Ojha, Subramaniam Badrinath, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Ashok Dinda, S Sreesanth, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh

Virender Sehwag and Naman Ojha are likely to open for the Indian side. Sourav Ganguly, who is the captain, can be expected to come as the first down. Subramaniam Badrinath, Mohammed Kaif and Yusuf Pathan will probably make up the middle order.

Also Read: First edition of women’s IPL scheduled for March 2023: Reports

For bowling, India Maharajas can be expected to play two spinners, Harbhajan Singh and Pragyan Ojha. Yusuf Pathan can become a third spinner for the team. Meanwhile, Ashok Dinda, S Sreesanth and Irfan Pathan will act as the pacers in the team.

Full Indian squad: Sourav Ganguly (C), Virender Sehwag, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Subramaniam Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma, Reetinder Singh Sodhi