Three members of the Delhi Capitals camp, including Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, have tested positive for COVID-19. The team, searching for two important points, will take on a team of hard-hitters – Punjab Kings – at the MCA Stadium, Pune on Wednesday. 

Marsh, who was key in Australia’s T20 World Cup-winning campaign, had to be hospitalised after testing positive for the coronavirus. However, others in the squad tested negative and travelled to Pune for the match. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Narine joins Adam Gilchrist, Murali Vijay in unwanted IPL list

The Capitals have had an inconsistent IPL season so far. They have won two and lost three games. Rishabh Pant and co come off a 16-run defeat against the Royals Challengers Bangalore. The 2020 runners-up are placed on the eighth rung of the points table with four points in their kitty. 

Delhi need the likes of David Warner and Prithvi Shaw to get them off a flying start and Rishabh Pant to carry on the momentum in the middle. Now in absence of Marsh, they would need to suitably find a number three and Mandeep Singh or Sarfaraz Khan could be an option.

Also read: Leg-spinners are match-winners: RR coach Lasith Malinga after Yuzvendra Chahal’s hattrick

DC and PBKS is an interesting battle for Shikhar Dhawan, after scoring 521, 618 and 587 runs for Delhi over three seasons, takes on his former side. The southpaw led the Punjab Kings against Sunrisers Hyderabad, where they lost by seven wickets. The team could be bolstered by the return of regular skipper Mayank Agarwal, who missed the SRH game due to a toe injury.

Punjab have three wins and as many losses from six games.

Also read: RR’s Yuzvendra Chahal talks about unique celebration after hattrick vs KKR

Teams (From): Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ishan Porel, Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Angad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Benny Howell.

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (Captain), Ashwin Hebbar, David Warner, Mandeep Singh, Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Pravin Dubey, Ripal Patel, Sarfaraz Khan, Vicky Ostwal, Yash Dhull, KS Bharat and Tim Seifert.

Match starts at 7.30 PM.