Delhi Capitals won the toss and decided to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Delhi captain Rishabh Pant went up against his former captain, Shreyas Iyer, and was quick to choose bowling. Pant felt it would be easier to chase a score, and Iyer chipped in, agreeing. However, the two captains have disagreed over whether dew will be a factor. Pant feels it will play a role, but the KKR skipper says the dew factor is out of the equation. However, the humidity and ground conditions seem to be favourable for bowling, according to both teams. 

Also read | Virat Kohli needs to…: Yuvraj Singh on former RCB skipper’s poor form

The game, which is at Wankhede will see DC face KKR, as both sides will be battling to win and improve their standing in the current IPL season. Two crucial points are at stake. Delhi had a close call in the previous match against Rajasthan Royals, losing by 15 runs. They have had some inconsistencies but won the game before the RR fixture, where the Capitals thrashed Punjab. DC have also bested KKR in their last matchup this season and will be looking to bring the confidence of that victory to the pitch.

KKR too lost out their last game by a narrow margin when Gujarat Titans won by 8 runs. While the Wankhede Stadium statistically favours teams opting to bat first, yesterday’s showdown between top-flight sides Gujarat Titans and Sunrisers Hyderabad proved that odds can be beaten. GT captain Hardik Pandya had opted to bowl first and managed to secure a win and the top spot on the table.

Also read | Ben Stokes named England Test captain: A look at his captaincy record


Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Aaron Finch, Abhijeet Tomar, Ajinkya Rahane, Baba Indrajith, Nitish Rana, Pratham Singh, Rinku Singh, Ashok Sharma, Pat Cummins, Rasikh Dar, Shivam Mavi, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, VarunChakaravarthy, Aman Khan, Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohammed Nabi, Ramesh Kumar, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sam Billings, Sheldon Jackson.

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (Captain), Ashwin Hebbar, David Warner, Mandeep Singh, Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Pravin Dubey, Ripal Patel, Sarfaraz Khan, Vicky Ostwal, Yash Dhull, KS Bharat and Tim Seifert.