Chennai Super Kings and Ravindra Jadeja are desperate for their first win in IPL 2022. The defending champion are on a four-game losing streak and any more dents to their campaign would hurt their playoff chances. The Yellow army will hope to secure their first win of the season against the rampant Royal Challengers Bangalore at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai on Tuesday. 

CSK were handed a six-wicket loss in the tournament’s opener against the Kolkata Knight Riders. Defeats against the Lucknow Super Giants, Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad just followed. However, a major problem is that Jadeja’s men could not come close in any game. 

Also read: Aakash Chopra taken aback by MI strategy, declares IPL 2022 an 8-team league

Their coach Stephen Fleming said that the team’s self-belief is shaken after four losses in a row. CSK have only posted one 200 plus score so far while scoring sub-par totals in the other three games.

“There has been issues of player availability and we have been pretty much below par in all departments — batting, bowling and fielding. We have been distant second in all games and we need to improve in all departments – that’s pretty much it,” Fleming had said. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat the Gujarat Titans by 8 wickets

RCB, on the other hand, have won three and lost one game so far. Their only defeat this season came against the Punjab Kings. Since, they have dominated Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians. 

Against Rohit Sharma’s men, opener Anuj Rawat hit his maiden IPL fifty and former skipper Virat Kohli also came to the party. Dinesh Karthik and Shabaz Ahmed have also been in fine form. 

Their star bowler Harshal Patel left the team camp due to personal reasons and he leaves big boots to fill. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Ravichandran Ashwin explains Rajasthan Royals’ ‘retired out’ call with football analogy

Teams (from): Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja (Captain), Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Ambati Rayadu, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Santner, Chris Jordan, Adam Milne, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Dwaine Pretorius, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Tushar Deshpande, KM Asif, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Subranshu Senapati, K Bhagath Verma, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudesai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Rajat Patidar, Siddharth Kaul.

Match starts at 7.30 PM