Henry Nicholls of New Zealand was dismissed in a bizarre manner on the opening day of the third Test vs England at Headingley, Leeds. The batter scored 19 runs off 99 balls as the visitors were cruising at 238/5 in the first session of Day 2. Daryl Mitchell and Tom Blundell scored half-centuries. 

Also read: On this day: Reliving India’s 2013 ICC Champions Trophy final win

In the final over before tea, Nicholls stepped out and drove English spinner Jack Leach towards the bowler. The ball ricochet off non-striker Daryl Mitchell’s bat and looped to Alex Lees at mid-off.

“How has it got there?!” exclaimed Nasser Hussain on commentary. 

“Mitchell’s at the non-striker’s end, he’s trying to get his bat out of the way, the umpire’s trying to get out of the way and Mitchell’s middled it straight to mid-off. I cannot believe that, I really can’t,” he added.

Also read: 15 years in my fav jersey: Cricketer Rohit Sharma toasts India debut anniversary

Watch the dismissal:

New Zealand were reduced to 83 for four following skipper Kane Williamson’s decision to bat first. They were 225 for five at the close of play. 

Taking about Nicholls’ dismissal, New Zealand assistant coach Luke Ronchi said the team gave the batter a bit of time on his own in the dressing room. 

Also read: Stuart Broad, ‘Saturdays’ star Mollie King announce they are pregnant with first child

“It’s not something you see too often. Unfortunately for Henry, it was his demise, but what else can you do? I think most of us gave him a bit of space to start with … it’s just one of those things, you just let someone go through their own thoughts and processes and then afterwards you can chat about it and, I guess, see the lighter side of getting out that way,” Ronchi told reporters.

“You’ve just got to accept it after a bit, you’ll be a bit grumpy for a while but after that you’ve got to keep ticking along.”

Also read: Here’s what Arjun Tendulkar made for Sachin Tendulkar on Father’s Day

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on Twitter clarified what the law says. 

“An unfortunate dismissal? Yes. But wholly within the Laws. Law states it will be out if a fielder catches the ball after it has touched the wicket, an umpire, another fielder, a runner or the other batter.”