MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli will no longer lead their respective IPL teams. While the latter had stepped down after the 2021 season, the former has handed over the baton to long-time Chennai colleague Ravindra Jadeja this year. 

On Thursday, the Chennai Super Kings announced that Dhoni will be stepping down as the team’s captain. 

“MS Dhoni has decided to hand over the leadership of Chennai Super Kings and picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team. Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK,” CSK said in a statement.

Also read: MS Dhoni’s last moment as Chennai Super Kings captain | Watch

“Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond,” the franchise added.

The 2022 season will be the first one to see neither Kohli nor Dhoni leading their sides. The last time they locked horns as captains was on September 24, 2021. 


The match, 35th out of the 60 played, took place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. 

Batting first, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) set a 157-run target for Chennai. Skipper Virat Kohli (53)  and Devdutt Padikkal (70) both registered half-centuries in a solid 111-run opening partnership.

Also read: From Dhoni to Jadeja: A look at all Chennai Super Kings captains

But CSK scripted a late comeback after Kohli had been snared by Bravo. MS Dhoni and company dismissed both Glenn Maxwell and AB de Villiers for cheap. Bravo, who was brilliant with the ball, took 3 wickets for 24 runs. 

Also read: MS Dhoni’s record as Chennai Super Kings captain

Dhoni finished the match for CSK in the 19th over. Chennai had recorded an opening partnership of 71 runs, before losing both openers in a span of a few deliveries. No 3 batsman Moeen Ali and their middle order batsmen all chipped in with useful contributions to take CSK across the finish line.

The Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore are schduled to meet on April 12 and then May 4 this season.