15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is around the corner and this
time the summer festival of India will begin with a clash between last season’s
finalists Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Defending
champions CSK will play KKR on Saturday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. With
this clash, a full-fledged season of IPL will return to India after almost two

Also Read: IPL 2022: Sunil Gavaskar happy with CSK batter Ruturaj Gaikwad’s progress

entire 2020 edition of the cash-rich tournament and the second half of last
year’s tournament were held in the United Arab Emirates as India grappled with
the COVID-19 pandemic.

season, Mumbai will host 55 matches in three venues – Wankhede Stadium, DY
Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium – while Pune’s MCA Stadium will host the
remaining 15 league matches. This means there will be no requirement for air
travelling for the 10 teams. Unlike the previous two seasons, fans will be
allowed to attend matches, but with a 25% occupancy limit as the COVID-19
pandemic is still a major challenge for the BCCI.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Possible XI of Chennai Super Kings

IPL, which is by far the best T20 league in the world, is a global attraction
because of its glitz and blitz. It is a tournament where all the best T20
players from across the world play. This season, the eight-team league will be
expanded to 10 teams after Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans joined the

the winner of four IPL trophies, defeated KKR to clinch their fourth IPL title
last year and Saturday’s season-opener will be a repeat of 2021 final.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Ravindra Jadeja opens up about CSK captaincy after taking over the role from MS Dhoni

 “This match will be a momentous occasion as
the 15th edition of the IPL will welcome the fans back to the stadiums after a
brief hiatus owing to the pandemic,” the BCCI said in a statement.

the season opener, KKR will have a chance to take revenge for last season’s
defeat in the final.

Also Read: Venkatesh Iyer talks about competition to play for India

meanwhile, will be led by their newly appointed captain Ravindra Jadeja, who
took over the role from MS Dhoni.

 “Jadeja, who has been an integral part of
Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK,” the
team said. “Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season
and beyond.”

on the other hand, will be led by their newly appointed captain Shreyas Iyer.

Also Read: Harsha Bhogle disappears during Instagram Live session, issues statement

season Royal Challengers Bangalore will also be led by a new captain after
Virat Kohli relinquished captaincy. Former CSK batter, Faf du Plessis
is the new skipper of RCB.

five-time champions Mumbai Indians will continue to be led by India’s
all-format captain Rohit Sharma and the side will play 11 of their 14 league
matches across three venues in their home city.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Virat Kohli reacts to MS Dhoni stepping down as Chennai Super Kings skipper

a relatively new team, a lot of new guys have come in,” Rohit told reporters.
“70-80% of the squad haven’t played in Mumbai before. So there is no such thing
as an added advantage,” he added.

The original eight franchises of the IPL have had to rebuild their squads due to the mega auction. They were allowed to retain a maximum of four players. So, unlike previous seasons, IPL 2022 will be a lot different.