The Sullah Assembly Constituency has Vipin Singh Parmar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP),  Jagdish Sapehia from the Indian National Congress (INC)  and Ravinder Singh Ravi of the Aam Admi Party (AAP) contesting for this year’s Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections. 

For many years, elections in Himachal Pradesh have been a two-party contest between the BJP and Congress. Since 1985, the state has been alternately ruled by Congress and the BJP. The BJP hopes to break the cycle, while Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP hopes to make a significant dent in the state’s political fortunes. 

Also Read: Assembly polls: Gujarat transfers over 900 officials after EC rap; 51 yet to be moved

The BJP had won 44 of Himachal’s 68 assembly constituencies last time and the Congress had won 21. The CPI(M) had won one seat. A party needs to win 35 seats for a majority to form the government in the state.

In 2017,  Vipin Singh Parmar of the Bharatiya Janata Party won the seat by defeating his closest rival Jagjiwan Paul of the Indian National Congress (INC) with a margin of 10, 291 votes. Mohinder Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independent candidates Vishal Singh, Kumari Vandna, Bikram Singh Rana and Lekh Raj contested the election. 

Sullah is one of the 68 assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. Sullah falls under the Kangra district and Kangra Lok Sabha Constituency, along with 16 Assembly segments, namely, Churah, Chamba, Dalhousie, Bhattiyat, Nurpur, Fatehpur, Jawali, Indora, Jwalamukhi, Jaisinghpur, Nagrota, Kangra, Shahpur, Dharamshala, Palampur and Baijnath, Sihunta. Sullah has more than 1,00,000 eligible voters. 

In 2012, Jagjiwan Paul of INC defeated Vipin Singh Parmar of BJP by  4,428  votes. Sanjay Kumar of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP),Deepak Nag of Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP), Kishan Chand of Samajwadi Party (SP), Manoj Kumar of Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP), Brij Lal of All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) and Ashok Kumar Katoch of Communist Party of India Marxist CPI (M) also contested the HP Assembly Elections in 2012. 

Himachal Pradesh votes in a single round on November 12. Results will be announced on December 8. Elections to the Gujarat assembly are also expected to be held in December this year. 

Quick facts about the Sullah Assembly seat  

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Sullah, Kangra district

Polling date: November 12, 2022

Sitting MLA, party: Vipin Singh Parmar, BJP

Key candidates, party in 2022: Vipin Singh Parmar (BJP), Jagjiwan Paul (INC), Ravinder Singh Ravi (AAP)

Winning candidate, party in 2017: Vipin Singh Parmar, BJP 

Runner-up name, party 2017: Jagjiwan Paul, INC

Winning margin in 2017: 10,291

Top 3 candidates 2017:  Vishal Singh (Independent), Jagjiwan Paul (INC), Vipin Singh Parmar (BJP)

Top 3 candidates 2012:  Jagjiwan Paul (INC), Ashok Kumar Katoch (CPM), Vipin Singh Parmar (BJP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Kangra